SA Corona Virus Online Portal Logo


raging bull award

Raging Bull Awards not only about annual performance

Every year the Raging Bull Awards, hosted by Personal Finance, honours the leaders of the collective South African investment schemes industry. Up for grabs this year were 30 certificates for the best funds in their categories and eight Raging Bull trophies for the top-performing funds for performance to the end of 2020, with the highlights being the Offshore Manager of the Year and the South African Manager of the Year awards.

“While past performance is not an indication of future performance, a fund manager’s track record is vitally important, particularly if you take into account consistency of performance over the longer term, a manager’s investment process and its attitude to risk. The aim of the awards, apart from recognising outstanding achievement in the industry, is to guide investors to unit trust funds that deliver reliable, sustainable returns without undue risk…” Martin Hesse, the editor of Personal Finance, commented.

For this purpose, awards are also made for performance over three’ and five years to recognise consistency.

The winners of the Manager of the Year Awards are:

Offshore Manager of the Year

T. Rowe Price

South African Manager of the Year – 3rd Place

H4 Collective Investments

South African Manager of the Year – 2nd Place


South African Manager of the Year

Ninety One

In 2020 MI-PLAN was the winner of the Manager of the Year, with Investec Asset Management (now Ninety One) second.

In a Citywire article on the awards, Patrick Cairns notes that only four funds have been consistent winners at the Raging Bulls in major categories both before and after 2019:

  • Fairtree Equity Prescient fund
  • Long Beach Flexible Prescient fund
  • Mi-Plan IP Global Macro fund and
  • Select BCI Worldwide Flexible fund.

Click here to access the detailed list of all Raging Bull winners.

, ,

Comments are closed.