Financial Services Tribunal – New premises and new rules

Background of the Tribunal

The Financial Sector Regulation Act 9 of 2017 establishes the independent Financial Services Tribunal in terms of section 219 thereof. The Tribunal replaced the FSB Appeal Board and came into effect on 1 April 2018. Upon application by aggrieved persons, the Tribunal reconsiders decisions of decision-makers as defined in terms of section 218 of the FSR Act and performs the other functions as conferred on it by the Act and specific financial sector laws.

In line with the Ministerial regulations published on 29 March 2019 (Gen N 196 – GG 42359) as from 1 April 2018 until the commencement of legislation that empowers the imposition of levies as contemplated in section 237 (1)(b) of the FSR Act, the Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) must provide financial, secretarial, administrative and other support to the Tribunal.

New address and rules

As from 1 August 2019, the Tribunal will be operating from its new Pretoria premises at Kasteel Office Park. All Tribunal hearings will take place at these new premises. Kim Host and Alitah Morudu have been deployed by the FSCA in order to continue rendering the secretariat support to the Tribunal in accordance with the Ministerial regulations. New Tribunal Rules have also been published.

Click here to download the new rules.

Click here to visit the Tribunal page on the FSCA website.

, , ,

Comments are closed.