Satrix wins big at listed tracker awards

Satrix Managers walked off with nine of the 26 awards presented at the fifth annual South African Listed Tracker Awards (Salta) event on 30 March.

This is the second year in which Satrix has dominated Salta. Last year, it won 10 of the 23 awards.

Sygnia, the second-largest provider of exchange traded products (ETPs) after Satrix, won only two awards, while third-largest provider Absa Capital won four.

1nvest, whose market capitalisation is much smaller than that of “the big three”, picked up five awards.

Read: SA’s exchange traded product sector grows 22.5% in 2021

This year’s awards recognised the best total investment returns by ETPs over three, five and 10 years to the end of December 2021 in various categories. There were also awards for index-tracking efficiency, trading efficiency and capital raising. All these awards are based on quantitative assessments alone.

The People’s Choice Award is decided by the public in an online poll.

South Africa’s oldest exchange traded fund (ETF), the Satrix 40 ETF – listed on the JSE in November 2000 – won the People’s Choice Award for the fifth consecutive year.

The Satrix 40 ETF also won the award for capital raising over the past three years in the South African equity ETP category.

Satrix’s other awards included the best-performing South African equity ETP over 10 years, the Satrix Capped Indi ETF, while the Satrix Resi ETF was the winner in this category over the five-year and the three-year periods.

For the first time, this year’s awards included the 82 exchange traded notes (ETNs) listed on the JSE.

Three ETNs won awards:

  • The UBS UABCPA AnBro Capital ETN for the best total investment return over three years in the category for foreign equity actively managed ETNs;
  • The NewWave Pound ETN for tracking efficiency over three years; and
  • The NewWave US Dollar ETN for trading efficiency in the foreign non-equity, commodity and currency category over three years.

The JSE, Refinitiv, Profile Data and are the sponsors and organisers of the awards.

The full list of winners are as follows:

, , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.
SA Corona Virus Online Portal Logo