Proteas ODI squad for the triangular Caribbean series

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today named Tabraiz Shamsi as a new cap in the Proteas ODI squad for the triangular series in the Caribbean next month against hosts, the West Indies, and Australia.
He is one of three spinners included in the ODI squad to play a triangular series in the Caribbean in June. Imran Tahir and Aaron Phangiso complete the spin-bowling contingent.
Shamsi’s inclusion came on the back of T20 performances, rather than fifty-over efforts, and prior experience in West Indies.

He played in last year’s CPL and was the joint fifth-highest wicket-taker with 11 scalps at 13.27. He was also part of the Titans team that won the South African domestic T20 competition and was their fourth-highest wicket taker with nine scalps at 26.88. Currently with the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the IPL, Shamsi has played four matches and taken three wickets. They were three big ones too: David Warner, Brendon McCullum and Ajinkya Rahane.

South Africa also recalled Wayne Parnell, who last played international cricket in July 2015 and has not played ODIs since last year’s World Cup. Parnell is one of two all-rounders alongside Chris Morris, and joins Morne Morkel, Kyle Abbott and Kagiso Rabada as one of five frontline quicks.
Neither Dale Steyn nor Vernon Philander were picked, with Steyn rested ahead of the home Tests against New Zealand in August and Philander not considered despite making a return from injury. David Miller, David Wiese and Marchant de Lange, who were part of South Africa’s ODI squad that took on England earlier this year, were dropped.

“In the short term our immediate focus must be to get back among the top ranked Test nations and for this reason we are resting Dale Steyn for this tour. He is vital to our ambitions in the longest format and he is going to have a heavy workload in the months ahead with home and away series against New Zealand, a home series against Sri Lanka and an away Test series in Australia which is where we need to perform,” explained Zondi. “He is certainly not out of the ODI picture and could well feature in the home series against Australia later this year”

Proteas ODI squad: AB de Villiers (The Unlimited Titans, capt), Kyle Abbott (Warriors), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (The Unlimited Titans), Quinton de Kock (The Unlimited Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans), Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins), Morne Morkel (The Unlimited Titans), Chris Morris (The Unlimited Titans), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (VKB Knights), Tabraiz Shamsi (The Unlimited Titans).


One Response to Proteas ODI squad for the triangular Caribbean series

  1. John Finlayson 13 May 2016 at 11:53 am #

    Not to see how this selection has gone…eight black players (3 Black, 3 Asian & 2 Coloured) and seven white. I guess this is the pattern of things to come. Mbalula has obviously won this round.